Moving house in parts

You may have picked up from my various stress filled posts that we are in the middle of the painfully slow process that is moving house. Now moving is known for being a pain in the backside, just ask my sister and she only moved 50 yards down the street and crossed the road. You can barely call it moving. It’s more like evolving.

With us it’s worse. We cleared a huge amount of stuff out back at the beginning of this whole house selling business (to make it look like we had more room than we actually do). This stuff all went to my parents.

This past weekend we cleared most of our furniture and general stuff into a local storage facility. Thank Goodness for the siblings or we’d have had issues. Big, big issues. Oh and we put more stuff in my parents.

Yesterday my mother and I spent the whole entire day cleaning out the house, taking things to the tip and attempting to sort the stuff the Lost Astronomer and I are taking to the flat we are renting temporarily in Southampton. We also brought more stuff to the farm.

There’s quite a bit more stuff than I hoped ready to go to the flat but I’m sure it will be fine. I mean it’s a tiny one bed flat which makes our current house seem sizeable but it will be fine I’m sure.

This means we are going to have stuff in at least three places (currently four as we still have stuff in our current house) this makes finding anything a challenge. I really hope I managed to keep everything important separate or we are going to have a hellish time trying to find anything. I really wish I was an organised soul with a list saying where all things are…

The worst thing is we are going to have to bring all this stuff together again into a new home. This terrifies me. I’ve had to make the Lost Astronomer promise to go through everything and actually throw things when we move into our new home. I am not organised but there is only so much disorganisation I can take, and I think I have reached my limit… This will not be allowed to continue if I have to sit on the Lost Astronomer to get him to do it I will.

My sister thinks I should quietly hide things and if in a years time he hasn’t looked for them they should be chucked. I feel guilty about this though and can’t do it. Even if maybe I should…

It’s strangely weird to see our empty home though… I miss my bed!IMG_20170619_182334765.jpg

#Top moving tip – do not move house during a heat wave if you can possibly help it… It’s not good for you!

2 thoughts on “Moving house in parts

  1. “There’s quite a bit more stuff than I hoped ready to go to the flat but I’m sure it will be fine. I mean it’s a tiny one bed flat which makes our current house seem sizeable but it will be fine I’m sure.”

    This made me laugh because it has a distinct air of frantic “It’s fine! It’s fine! EVERYTHING IS FINE!” about it! But then I felt guilty for laughing because currently my stuff is divided between two homes and I haaaaaaaaaaaaaate it. So dividing my stuff between four would lead me straight to a nervous breakdown.

    I hope Astroboy can bear to part with a good chunk of stuff, and that the rest of the moving process is more streamlined and bearable!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

